Reliable awd, 4x4

i am not a mechanic, live in Alaska, and looking for a reliable used awd or 4x4. i looked at the top 10 list of reliable cars and only saw the subaru impreza and forester. these two are hard to find for sale used (and expensive). are there any others that would be comparable?

Honda CRVs are similar and typically very reliable. You could also look at the Toyota RAV4.

The Honda and Toyota are very good vehicles. Mazda has soime good AWD vehicles as well.

The CRV is a good car, and I love my Mazda (but its not an AWD). I believe the Ford Escape can come AWD, and my in laws LOVE theirs.

How much can you afford? After about 5 years, the brand doesn’t matter as much as how well it was cared for. If you want to spend about $10,000 you can’t depend on the brand. A stripped 2007 4WD Toyota Tacoma would run around $12,000 in a private sale in Anchorage.

I don’t know your local, but make sure you can get it serviced. I wouldn’t buy a fill_in_the_blank_anything if nobody in 100 miles knows anything about it.

I’ve heard good reports about the Toyota Rav 4. At least for reasonbly well-travelled dirt, gravel desert type roads friends tell me it is reliable and a good peformer w/reasonable mileage. Not sure about extremely cold weather and snow and ice performance tho.

thanks for the comments! i have had a mazda mpv in texas so never thought about awd back then. now i have something more to look at on craigslist :slight_smile:

It may make sence to buy a car from the lower 48 and ship it up. One that may not have been exposed to an Alaska winter/ roads yet. Also rav4 while a good choice has a big weakness if you are going over rough dirt roads all of the time. It’s tailgate swings out not up PLUS has the weight if the spaire tire on it. This plus rough roads gives the hinges a short life, and they are not easy/cheap to replace.