Radiator Sealant Issue?

Hi. Thanks in advance for any thoughts you might have. I was losing antifreeze fairly quickly (a couple of quarts a week), so I put Prestone Sealant (two smallish bottles) in my radiator - correction, I put it in the coolant reservoir because these new (post 1980s) cars don’t grant access directly to the radiator. I own a late 1990’s Chevy Lumina. Then I drove the car around with the heat on full, per the sealant instructions, for a half hour (the bottle only asked for 10 minutes). My coolant is no longer leaking, but now the indicator that tells me whether my engine is overheating flies from completely cold to halfway toward hot (right in the middle) and back again in seconds depending on whether I’m driving uphill or downhill. I’ve never seen anything like it. Should I be worried? Have I gummed up the works with this sealer somehow? I’ve never used radiator sealant in this car before. Thanks again.

How do you know if there’s coolant in the radiator if there’s no cap? And how do you refill the radiator? Both of my late-90s cars have standard radiator caps.

Can you tell is the sealant was drawn into the radiator?

The jumping temperature gauge could mean there’s not enough coolant in the system.

The trouble with radiator sealants is they can clog up small coolant passages that you don’t want clogged up. If the radiator leaks it needs to be repaired or replaced.