Radiator fans not coming on

Hi, I drive a 2000 Subaru Legacy and the radiator fan does not always come on. This sometimes makes the car run hot but has not (yet) put it into the “danger zone” overheating. It seems to happen if the car is in stop and go traffic and it’s hot outside. If I’m driving down the highway or the weather is cool it doesn’t happen.

I checked the fuses (yes, even the ones under the hood) and they are all fine. I am just curious if there is a sensor that could be the problem or if it is more likely the thermostat. It didn’t quite fit the descriptions I found for thermostat but I’m a broke college student trying to keep an old car on the road, not a Subaru mechanic :stuck_out_tongue:

If your not handy, and don’t have the equipment necessary to determine the obvious electrical problem, then you need to see a mechanic that has the equipment and knowledge.

The problem must be narrowed down. It could be a bad cooling fan. It could be a bad relay. It could be a bad sensor. It could be a bad connection or bad wiring. The thermostat is not the problem. A proper diagnosis can prevent replacing parts that are not bad and could very well save you money.

If you do let it sit at idle will the fan eventually come on, but only after it gets hotter than normal?

Mostly BustedKnuckles is probably right since there are plenty of things involved. But there is one thing you might be able to figure out. Often cooling fans have 2 speeds - hi/lo (I don’t know the specifics on your car). There is often a relay for each speed - 1 low speed relay; 1 high speed relay.

Its also the case that many of the different relays for different functions are actually the same parts. So if you can figure out if you have low/hi relays, you could find another identical one in your relay box that serves a non-essential function that you know is working (e.g. A/C). Swap one in & out for the fan relays & see if that gets the fan running.