Question about oscilloscope

Hi , i am a beginner at using the scope for car diagnostics , so i was looking to buy something within the budget i looked online found hantek 8 channels but it said its 8 analog channels , some other scopes saying its 4 digital channels , so i was wondering what is the difference bet. Analog and digital channels ??

Regards

I had an earlier version of this long ago

http://www.testequipmentdepot.com/tektronix/oscilloscope/4-channel-digital-phosphor-oscilloscope-100mhz-tbs2104.htm?ref=gbase&gclid=CjwKCAiA3vfgBRB9EiwAkfpd3CdgRPJZ_TRl-YhsvS-yKVGZ7cMZhRLKDpIy36R4UF6dxhPh0hGLAhoCLAYQAvD_BwE

and found that 4 channels were all that was ever needed then and also had this
Snap-On scope at the time

https://www.ebay.com/p/Snap-on-Vantage-Pro-EETM303-Scope-Meter-Component-Tester/1122111159?iid=254035360160&chn=ps

and for the beginner it can save a lost of time in set up and operation but many times the controllabillity of ranges and viewing related inputs simultaneously made the tektronic more useful. Plus the lab scope is not programmed to be dedicated to current automotive applications and so will never need upgrading.

1 Like

And re analog and digital, that refers to the operation of the scope itself and I feel sure that any analog scope would use an old cathode ray tube while digitals use flat screen ā€˜digitalā€™ monitors. I would be surprised if analog oscilloscopes are available that can be easily used on an automobile. The old Sun Electrics were analog but they are all antiques now and very limited in their functions.

1 Like