Puzzler -prisoners with hats

I just heard the answer to the Prisoner with Hats and the logic involved. What prison was this?–the prison for MIT students? I saw James Cagney prison movies–I even watched White Heat 30 times----so i am an expert on prisons!

There is no way that the prisoners would figure this out–unless it was a white collar prison filled with crooked accountants, lawyers and hosts of NPR shows!

All it would take would be to have one investment banker (math major) to figure this out and persuade the rest. Unfortunately, there would only be a few investment bankers incarcerated while they really ought to be a higher percentage of the population.

"There is no way that the prisoners would figure this out–unless it was a white collar prison filled with crooked accountants, lawyers and hosts of NPR shows! "

That was NOT a very hard one to solve…This type of thinking (logic) is usually taught the first year of college. My daughter was taught it in high-school. If you want difficult logic puzzler I can give you a couple.

Hey MikeInNH, this is a great idea. You ought to start a new thread with interesting logic puzzles that are more interesting than the recycled summer puzzlers. There would need to be a clear indication in the puzzle statement whether this was a new puzzle or whether it was a spoiler for a previously posted one. I’m in.

Good idea!!

MikeInNH wrote:“This type of thinking (logic) is usually taught the first year of college. My daughter was taught it in high-school.”

My point was not about the difficulty of the puzzle but about the likelihood that average prisoners would solve it. Most prisoners did not take logic classes in college, many did not finish high school, many cannot read.

“Most prisoners did not take logic classes in college, many did not finish high school, many cannot read.”

If your point is they have much in common with prison guards, you’re right.