Propane kits and cars

I’m looking at converting my old beater to run on propane and I have a question about the fuel tank. All the kits I’ve seen include a donut tank or a torpedo tank. Must I use those tanks? Can’t I just use a standard 20# tank like I’d use for my grill? Obviously I would have to find a way to secure it in my trunk so it didn’t roll around, but is there any special equipment a kit tank has that a standard 20# tank wouldn’t? My thought is that rather than searching for places that can fill a torpedo or donut tank, I could simply swap out my car’s tank the same way I swap out my grill’s tank.

I’m no expert, but my brother-in-law is. Back in the '70s he converted his car to run on propane (he worked as a technician for a propane company) and if I remember correctly he just had one or two tall tanks, what I think you are calling “torpedo” tanks. Those have the same connectors as a grill tank, they are just bigger. The only problem I think you’d have is a seriously short range. Those 20# tanks are not very big. It’s not hard to find places to refill a propane tank, at least not that I’ve seen, it’s also far cheaper to refill a tank than swap them, even the 20# tanks.

Thinking about it, permanently installed tanks probably have some additional plumbing so that they can remain hooked up during a refill where the 20# tanks won’t have that. You really ought to find a place that will do the refills.

You can’t use a standard 20# tank.

Propane powered engines, such as fork trucks and such, need liquid propane delivered to the vaporizer at the engine to insure sufficient fuel flow.

The standard 20# grill tanks extract propane vapor from the top of the tank, which will seriously
inhibit flow.

So basically there are two different types of tanks; those that extract vapor and those that extract liquid.