Premium vs. Regular Gasoline

I have been told my a professional mechanical engineer and a well-know car expert (whose radio show is broadcast in Dallas, TX) that the use of PREMIUM GASOLINE is not required even though the manufacturer specifically “requires” it in their owner’s manual. The two individuals who stated that premium gasoline is not recommended are of the opinion that the automobile computer will compensate and adjust for the use of regular in lieu of premium. Do you agree with that analysis?

It’s irresponsible to make blanket statements like that on the air, as other posters will agree! I am an engineer and an SAE member and the answer is not simple!

Some car manuals say that premium is “recommended”. These cars will perform best on premium, but could run on regular without pinging; the computer will compensate, but the engine will produce less useful power.

Others specifically say that premium is “required”. These cars will likely not only have reduced power, but will often “ping” on acceleration, and may eventually ping all the time and burn holes in the pistons.

I am therefore concluding that you may not have heard the whole explanation by the engineers, or you are confusing “recommended” with “required”.

In any case, no responsible engineer, not even in Texas, would make a blanket statement on the air that all “premium” cars can safey run on regular.

I invite other regulars to add their comments.

In most cases, yes, premium is a waste of money…The five octane points that separate “Regular” from “Premium” are not enough to worry about or cause engine damage.

If your engine will not tolerate “Regular”, you will know about it the moment you try to accelerate…