Prelude burning oil

I have a 94 Honda Prelude that I like a lot. It’s in great shape with only seventy five thousand miles
but it burns about a quart of oil every nine hundred miles. Is there a product or procedure that
could help this? Thanks!

(This is my first time on here, if you could send your suggestion to: moonphish@sbcglobal.net
as well I would really appreciate it!) I may not know how to find the answer…

You could try “high mileage” oil. It might help.

You didn’t say how many miles are on the car, but since it’s 18 or more years old I assume it’s a lot.

For a car that old, a quart every 900 miles isn’t bad at all. You could try high mileag oil, or bump the base weight up a notch, but the engine is tired. Nothing short of a total rebuild would stop it from burning oil, and I can’t see doing that in a car that age. Know that as long as you keep the oil level up the car will run indefinitely. It’ll never win any races again, but it’ll successfully get you from point A to point B.

Oil is cheap. Enjoy the car for hopefully a long time.

As mountainbike stated, the consumption of 1 qt every 900 miles is actually pretty good for a car this old.
How would you feel if you bought a new Audi, only to find out that the so-called “normal” rate of oil consumption (according to the mfr) is 1 qt per 600 miles?

Just be sure to check the oil level at least once each week, and change the oil according to the mfr’s maintenance schedule. And, if you change the PCV valve, it is even possible that your rate of oil consumption might decrease a bit.

@MB,

“It’s in great shape with only seventy five thousand miles…”

An additive product, “Restore” might help a little. 15W-40 oil is another path you might try…

Honda’s use an Alumasil block, no steel cylinder liners, the piston rings ride directly on the aluminum cylinder walls…Sometimes this can be problematic…