Piston slap and damaged rod; engine replaced

In June '10 my 06 Explorer twice idled down very low in traffic. Happened again within 1,000 miles; took to dealer: throttle body and spark plugs/wires replaced. Within day noticed constant very rough idle. I returned Dec. '10; was told could not “replicate the customer’s complaint”. Rough idle continued. Feb. '11 took to another dealer: #3 piston slap, damaged rod, new engine, $5600. Did first dealer cause this or mis-diagnose? Do I have an actionable claim? Thanks.

Sounds like they fixed it. No claim that I can see (not that I’m a lawyer, but I did sleep at a Holiday Inn Express).

One question first, did you hear piston slap? It is audible. A little is harmless but a lot will eventually be a problem. It typically happens with a cold engine and goes away with warmup. GM had a problem with piston slap in several engines in the past but it was taken care of by 06 with a tighter assembly fit.

If you heard no piston slap, then the answer leans toward a mis-diagnosis and it is very doubtful that a dealer’s helper would cause a ruined engine.

DID YOU PAY THAT MUCH or was this under warranty? I would think you had it under warranty…NO?

My first question is did the first dealer mis-diagnose the problem to begin with, and, therefore, was the replaced throttle body and spark plugs and wires not the correct fix. Second question is, in replacing the spark plugs and wires, could that have actually caused the piston slap and damaged rod?

Not mechanically knowledgeable so I can’t say I heard a slap. I noticed the constant rough idling right after the dealer replaced the throttle body and spark plugs/wires in Dec. '10. The first two “idle down” episodes in June '10 were very brief and did not continue after I re-started the car each time.

First question - who knows? Maybe, but (second question) it could not have caused the problem.

How might you have been damaged financially?