Parasitic drain in 2005 Acura TL

What experience have u had with parasitic draining? Who in the San Francisco Bay Area best treats this? Is it worth fixing this in a 2005 Acura TL? Love tha majestic TL…

Some TL owners have had issues with the bluetooth phone module and parasitic drains. Could pull the fuse for that and see if it goes away.

I’m far from an expert, but I had a parasitic drain last summer. After some research, I found the following video to disconnect the hands free link module and haven’t had any problems since. https://youtu.be/8BJTQK0TNYA

I don’t think you have them out there but the seat heaters were also a problem on the TLs.

If you have a volt meter, you can test for drains pretty easily. There’s 2 methods you can use, depending on how anal you are about keep-alive memory and module settings.

With your volt meter, take the + and - cable leads and touch them across the two terminals of every fuse in your car. Measuring DC voltage, any circuit with current flowing through it(parasitic drain) will show “some” sort of reading, usually about 0.04v or thereabouts. Any fuse with NO current flowing(no draw) will read 0.00v. The reason for this is that volt meters are not actually reading specific voltage capacities, they are actually reading the difference in voltage between the two leads. What you’re doing is called a voltage drop test, but on a very tiny portion of the circuit, so you need to have an accurate meter. Voltage won’t vary across circuits with no electrons flowing.

The 2nd method is admittedly easier to determine what circuit is affected, but it comes with the caveat of having to unplug every fuse which could affect some modules in some cars.