Overfilling Gas Tank

I’ve been driving for 13 years and have gotten gas the same way since the beginning.

One day as I re-entered the truck, the wife looks at me and asks, “Do you think it’s safe to keep putting in gas when it’s already clicked.” I remarked, “The foam builds up and that’s what made it click off(BIG LIE?) and it still had room for about 5 or 6 gallons.” She, of course, scoffed, rolled her eyes realizing I wasn’t getting it. Of course an arguement ensued, but that’s not what I want you all to solve. I already did.

I am intrigued by that now. I never thought of it. Finally, out of boredom from waiting on a substantially larger gas tank than we’ve ever had to fill up, I read all the signs on the pump. In a whole list was, “Do not overfill tank.”

Here’s the two issues/questions:

I’ll admit when my wife’s right, and logic is telling me she is. (She’s never had a ticket or and accident, so I cannot win car arguements)

I think overfilling tank is “creating” too much pressure because the tank needs to be vented. That’s my idea, but I want to know the answer to this dumb question, “Why can’t I overfill my tank?”

The other issue is our 1999 Expedition. When it clicks off and I only put in about two more gallons I finish up and get back in. While I reset odometer I notice that the gas guage isn’t quite all the way up, not like my Taurus. So next time, I added about 6 to 8 more gallons and it finally read “full”. Why is this?

Thanks. You all will make her day by reiterating that she’s “right”. :slight_smile:

Take care.

JP#3