OK to tow a trailer?

Hello,
I own a 1999 Toyota Camry Solara SLE V6 with about 120,000 miles, and have had this car for just over a year now. I am moving from mid-Missouri to mid-Pennsylvania in the beginning of August (about 900 miles), and am having trouble deciding which method to use and could use some suggestions.
I need to move enough stuff that I can’t fit it all in my vehicle, but my biggest piece is a full-sized mattress. I have a lot of books that will be heavy and bags of clothes-but not too much else besides that. I have considered either 1. Towing a small trailer with the Solara, or 2. Renting a moving truck and a car trailer and towing my car along to PA. Of course, renting a small trailer would be less expensive than a truck-but I am concerned about the pressure this will put on my engine. I really need this car to last me as long as possible, so am trying to treat it well. I am a graduate student who is operating on a budget, which is why I can’t go with my first preference of hiring someone to deal with all of this for me! 
I would appreciate any thoughts, suggestions, and/or experience.
Thanks!

Personally, I’d be leery about towing much with this vehicle. Your owner’s manual should give information about how much it can tow…or whether it should tow at all. As for me, I’d rather get the truck and put the Solara on a trailer for the trip. It might cost, but blowing something out in the car will almost certainly end up costing more. A 13 year old Camry with 120K on the clock isn’t my first choice for towing anything except the tiniest of trailers.

Just my two cents.

Check your owners manual first, but I think you can tow a small trailer with this since you have the V6. The question would be the transmission. If you have an automatic, you should probably at least change the transmission fluid in it before you go.