Oil pressure light, not gauge?

I own a 1997 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 with a 5.9L V8. It has 226,000 miles. It runs and sounds great. Currently the oil pressure light has been coming on after I drive 1 mile at 35-55mph after driving 65mph for 5 minutes or more. The gauge stays around 40psi for oil pressure, the light is the only thing that comes on. There are no unusual noises coming from the engine when the light flickers. Could it be the oil sending unit to the light? the oil pump? oil sludge clogging the pick up? or is it just getting tired? The oil has been changed every 3,000 miles. It’s next oil change isn’t for another 2,000 miles. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I’m new to car talk and it is a great resource!

Okay, dumb question, but you’re sure the light coming on isn’t an oil level light?

If it isn’t, then obviously the gauge and the light are getting different readings. The oil pressure should be checked with a mechanical gauge to see which one’s right-- with as many miles as you’ve got, the idiot light could be right. There’s usually a pressure switch for the light and a sender for the gauge.

It could also be the gauge itself. Does it move around or does it seem pegged at 40?

It’s a oil pressure light. I checked the manual to be sure. The gauge isn’t locked at 40, it will move from over 40 to a little under 40. It never is at 0 when the light comes on. Thanks

Replace the pressure switch that controls the light…Usually located near the oil filter, but not always…

The sensor gets tired after a while.

another thing…the light comes on when I am braking and coming to a stop and stays on until I press the accelerator and start moving again. At that point it turns off and doesn’t light back up until I brake and come to a stop. Usually lighting up around 15-20 mph when I am slowing down. Thanks.

That’s what made me think it might have been a level light.