Oil pan debris and low oil pressure, any thoughts to save the situation?

Hi everyone,

My VW CC Sport 2010 - acquired a month and a half ago from a private seller with 117,000 mi on the odometer - has low oil pressure at idle. As it turns out, there are debris in the oil pan (see pictures).

Yet, there is no other sign of failure:

• Good and constant oil level
  • Good engine temperature (reaches 190°F after 5 min and never exceeds it)
  • Good fuel economy (29 MPG on the last fill-up)
  • No active trouble code on the diagnostic port
  • No notable noise coming from the motor
  • No notable lack of performance when driving
  • No notably black smoke coming out of the exhaust pipe

That would be insane, but, is the engine soon-to-be dead? :confused:

Full details on how things unfolded:

It is my first time buying a car. All of the Carfax report, the pre-purchase inspection at a mechanic, and my own test drive were good. I pleasantly drove it on all kinds of road (commute + roadtrip) over close to 2,000 miles.

All was well when I suddenly got a low oil pressure warning beeping and flashing red on the dashboard (“Oil pressure Engine off!”). It lasted only a couple of seconds before it disappeared by itself. I stopped and found everything was fine (oil level in particular, that I kept checking twice a day since this moment). I then started the engine, no warning. I then drove again a little bit, nothing either. Another drive and 25 miles later, it popped again. In fact, it soon appeared the warning was highly sporadic (came 4 times in 70 mi). I thought first of a bad contact and changed the oil pressure switch myself. It didn’t fix the issue, so I brought the car to a mechanic where:

• The oil pressure was tested: 12 PSI at idle whereas it should be above 17.
  • The engine was flushed with oil additive, then the oil and oil filter replaced. No piece of metal were found.
  • The oil pressure was tested again: 21 PSI at idle.