Oil filter interchangeablility

Why are there so many different kinds of oil filters when many or most have the same attachment thread and the same diameter gasket?

Different manufacturers have different standards for flow capacity, filtration, backflow valves, etc. A large engine will need more flow capacity than a small engine. They also don’t all use the same viscosity oil.

Is it true that most oil filters have the same attachment thread and the same diameter gasket?

I find that hard to believe based on my own experience - but I’m not a mechanic nor do I pretend to be one.

There is a lot of commonality with the threads (still not all are the same thread), but gasket diameter I don’t think is the same everywhere. For example, the Ford Motorcraft 820S filter gasket I think is larger than the one for the Subaru.

The Toughguard for my 2002 Sienna and the 1989 Dodge Caravan I had before, call out the same exact filter. No reason they couldn’t, but it was a minor surprise.

1 Like

The one interchangable filter I remember was for the Chevy small block, when GM went from a large (1 qt) one to a smaller one (1/2 qt?). Space permitting, I’d put on the larger one.

It’s called Shelf Space…Every new filter part number requires sellers to, collectively, stock millions of new filters…Filter manufacturers love it…Also, you can’t expect prima-donna engine designers to use an existing filter or belt. That’s just not how the game is played…On popular engines, there are usually several filters that will fit, the only difference being case size…If every parts store in the country must buy a case of new filters, that’s A LOT of filters…

There are many variables to the oil filter.

Thread form is generally either 3/4"x16 TPI or 20mm metric. So there are 2 common configurations.

However, the depth between the gasket face is start of thread varies. Lets say there are 5 common configurations.

The gasket diameter varies. Lets say there are 5 common diameters.