Oil change frequency

I recently bought a 2011 Cadillac CTS coupe with 17K miles on it 3.6l v-6. I have put 3k miles on it and am thinking about an oil change. I looked in the owners manual for recommendations and it says change the oil at least once a year or when the computer monitoring system gives a message that your oil life is low. I’m wondering specifically how the system detects when an oil change is needed, and is a gimmick or should I change oil every 5k regardless like I have been doing for 30 years? The monitor says I have 70% oil life left which would mean about 10k per oil change (no need for synthetic according to the manual). By the way, I love the car and it’s the first car I’ve owned with XM radio (I’m hooked) and the first premium sound system, what a difference.

Personally, I’d change it now, since you can’t be sure of its history, and again every 5,000 miles. Not only will your car benefit from always having fresh fluids, but you’ll sleep better.

I agree–as I usually do–with mountainbike.
However, I want to add another thought:

That oil life monitor is supposedly accurate enough in detecting engine temperature, drive cycles, and other factors, so that it won’t put your engine in danger of sludge and other lubrication-related problems. In my opinion, that type of extended oil change interval is probably fine for people who get rid of their cars every few years–before lubrication-related issues arise.

If you are planning on keeping this car for the long term (as both mountainbike and I do), you would help to ensure the life of that engine by doing oil changes every 5k miles. Also–don’t forget to lift the hood every few weeks in order to check the level of the oil and other fluids.