Noisy Honda Fit

Ok, I have been listening to the show for several years and have never felt like I know enough about cars to second-guess any of the answers given on air or the discussion boards, but I’ve got to pipe in on this one. A caller described the excessive road noise on her 2010 Honda Fit, saying she did not notice it during the test drive but that it has since been annoying her. Tom and Ray immediately attributed this to unevenly worn tires and suggested that a new set would remedy the problem. I think this is far too hasty for one reason: the Honda Fit is an incredibly noisy car right off the lot. We shopped this segment and the booming road noise was a primary reason we didn’t buy the Fit. This is a Honda trademark and has been for years. Civic, Accord, Fit, they all have higher than average road noise, and if you don’t pay particular attention to it during a short test drive, you will likely overlook it until you start to use it on the freeway. Tom and Ray may have offered an expensive remedy to a problem that cannot be fixed. What do you guys think?

I think you’re right - Hondas and Fits are well known to be noisier cars. We have had a few folks here complaining about their noisy Fits. Others know it comes with the territory, and to them the handling and versatility more than make up for it.

But new tires that are especially quiet in their design might help some.

I’ve actually had tires make quite a difference in road noise level but usually you can tell and it is after maybe 75% wear. I think it may help but might not be the total answer. I think when she said it wasn’t that noisy when new was the clue that it may be the tires.

Yes, low end Hondas tend to be noisy, but there is one inescapable truth about almost all new cars; they come with cheap tires. A good set of tires might improve things.