No Oil

My son was driving his car today when it started to make a “funny noise.” He turned around and brought back home. When he got there the first thing I did was check the oil level. There was nothing on the stick. He said his oil light didn’t come on and I had him turn the ignition on and confirmed that the oil light works. When he drove up the car sounded like a diesel. We pushed it into the garage and I’m having it towed to my mechanic in the morning. The question is how likely he did damage to the engine. He drove maybe 10 miles (likely less) after the noise first appeared. His car is a 2005 Mazda 3 hatchback.

I don’t know how low the oil level is, only that it wasn’t on the stick. The stick did have oil on it but they were splatters. What oil I saw looked normal but I’m not a mechanic.

I would appreciate some good news being that it is the holidays.

There’s going to be some engine damage. The only questions are how bad and how long before the engine gives up.

The oil pan could be dropped and some bearing caps removed for crankshaft journal and bearing inspection.
That leads to the issue then of what do you do once damage is found visually.

About 10 years ago things piled up and I was super-busy for almost an entire year and never checked the oil in my Corolla. I didn’t realize it at the time, well I sort of did b/c I noticed a little oil dripping under the car where I park at night, I had a valve cover gasket leaking too. So one day before I got into the car I was thinking it is time for an oil and filter change, but no time for that, so I decided it was time to check the oil on the dipstick at least. Nothing. No oil at all on the dipstick. Not even the very tip.