No compression in my Prizm

Man, I’m down and out. I have a 2001 Chevy Prizm and noticed that there was a loss of power last weekend during a 70 mile drive home from seeing my kids. I finally took it to a dealer. I asked them to diagnose the problem and change the oil too. He recommended an engine flush to help clean the engine as this may help solve the problem. They changed the plugs and found one that had a crack in the ceramic part. Upon testing the cylinder pressure, that one had zero compression pressure. They said they basically had no clue. It was giving no apparent sounds that would lead them to a diagnosis. But for $900 they would diagnose it during their 9 hour process. I am an aspiring non-traditional chiropractic student. I live on loans and have no capital to speak of. So, I have my car back in the same running condition plus clean oil for $500. That is a months rent for me. HELP!!! Please…

It is time for a second opinion. hopefully the 0 reading was a mistake.

Yeah, don’t take it to a dealer as they’re much more expensive and there’s no reason to be taking a car this old to one-- any competent independent should have no problems with this car.

Secondly, don’t ever go back to that place even for directions. Maybe there was some sort of disconnect between the actual mechanics and the front desk, but from what you’ve mentioned it sounds like they don’t have the first clue as to how an internal combustion engine works.

If the compression is zero in one cylinder but okay in the rest, it’s probably a valve problem. It could be as simple as a broken lifter or valve that’s massively out of adjustment, or it could be a burnt valve. Any mechanic who has had high-school auto shop should be able to figure it in an hour, tops.

If these people can’t tell what’s causing a zero compression problem on one or more cylinders and claim that it takes 9 hours to diagnose it they should all burn their uniforms and tool boxes.