No Catalytic Converter on 04 Honda Pilot

So my 2004 Honda Pilot doesn’t have a catalytic converter on it because I took it to a friend and he cut it off and I guess just basically straight piped it. He said it was bad. Ok, I’m no mechanic so I didn’t think much about it until I started having problems. I have bought a new one and o2 sensors to put back on it but for now my problem is at start up it idles rough. After starting it, as I first start driving it, it will act like it’s about to stall out but doesn’t so I press the gas enough to get it to go then it’s fine while driving. Then It started running hot when I’d idle like in the school pick up line or long red lights. I changed the thermostat and it was fine for a few days then started running hot again when idle. I had one guy tell me it was the Idle Control Valve which got cleaned out but still idles rough. Anyone know if all this could be from not having the cat on it? Also has an exhaust leak from the guy not welding the pipes on properly. Need help fast!

First.

Anyone who cuts the cat out of your vehicle is no friend.

Second.

Removing a catalytic converter and replacing it with a any kind of pipe is a Federal and State offense. Which can incur sever fines.

Third. And most important is,

Any shop who see’s that there is no longer catalytic converter in the vehicle may refuse to service the vehicle because the vehicle is no longer street legal. And a shop isn’t going touch a vehicle that isn’t street legal so it can be put back on the street.

And Finally.

Removing the cat removes some of the exhaust back-pressure. And this can effect how the engine runs.

Best you can do is, bring the vehicle in and have a new cat installed. A shop will do that because you’re now making the vehicle street legal.

I wonder how much that so-called friend got for your cat when they recycled it?

Tester