New (to me) car, great deal and looking for catches

Long story short, a dump truck side-swiped my pickup while it was parked before Christmas. I finally got a check last week and found a very nice car on craigslist. The new car is a one owner (two now!) 2001 Plymouth Neon (it’s branded Plymouth, I put Dodge below because the forum has no Neon listed under Plymouth) with 126,996 miles at purchase. It’s the automatic transmission. I paid the asking price, $1100, since they had all the maintenance receipts back to day 1, mile 0. Well, the original asking was $1200 but they knocked $100 off without my asking because it’s due for a transmission service. About the only thing I didn’t get is an owner’s manual. Anyhow, the main things I need assistance with are as follows.

The transmission shop wants to talk me into a full flush but I’m unsure. I’m not a mechanic, I’m just capable of getting by. What I’ve heard in the past is full flushes aren’t good for transmissions in some cases but I really don’t know which and that was for a completely different vehicle. The shop says it’s better to flush the whole system and I don’t have a manual to use to dispute that. I’m interested in feedback on both sides of the issue, all I want is to keep my car in good running order for another 100k miles or more.