New Engine - Shady Mechanic?

I had the engine replaced in my 2009 toyota sienna van about 3 weeks ago. The work came with a 6 month warranty.

A few days after I got it back some lights came on VSC and the check engine light I believe. I took it back and they adjusted something. And I was all good until a few days ago when the AC started cutting out, engine temp gauge would go crazy, and all sorts of lights would pop up.

I took a look under the hood and the engine coolant container was bone dry. I filled it up with 50/50 coolant. I was taking it back to the garage the next morning and the it started to get real “choppy” with acceleration and I barely made it to the shop.

Fast forward to today and the guy calls me and tells me that they’re replacing the radiator since it had a “hole” in it and that the alternator had to be rebuilt entirely. I’m no mechanic but it’s suspicious that I’ve never had an alternator or radiator problem before his guys replaced my engine. I paid $4K bucks for the replacement and now he wants another $600.

Am I getting taken for a ride or is this just bad luck?

several pieces of the puzzle as yet unanswered.
Why did you initially think you needed an engine replacement the first time ? and with a used one to boot ?
Many of these other issues could easily have been pre-existingand easily fooling you into the whole engine diagnosis…or even caused the bad engine ( like the leaking radiator causing an overheated engine…a locked up component like a/c or alternator holding the belt so tight that one thinks the engine is locked )

As johnny 5 says…’'more input. ‘’

The initial issue was a complete loss of acceleration. The engine would rev but no motion and then the engine shut off and nothing. Mechanic said that I had “thrown a rod” and a cracked block if I remember correctly. He told me it would cost just as much to repair as it would to just get a new engine.

Is Johnny 5 alive yet?