Need suggestions on how to get into the car scene, for a inexperienced car lover

Hello everyone,

I would love some insight/experience-based tips based on the caption above. A little background on my situation:

25-year-old working a 9/5 with good pay, and a strong investment background (on the side). The greatest thing I ever owned was a 2011 Mustang 5.0, and it broke my heart selling it for something more sensible (a Subaru Crosstrek). I have been absolutely infatuated with cars my entire life, but not so much the working on them aspect (I have zero wrenching experience, or way to begin), although I appreciate that side as well.

My dilemma is I don’t know anyone in the car world, or anyone who even thinks the way I do about them. Most of my free time is spent on YouTube or reading up on different types of cars. Love American muscle the most.

I live in an apartment and consider myself frugal, so although I would love to go out and buy another mustang right now, I could not validate that spend.

Other interests for me include sustainability (not exactly what comes to mind when thinking American muscle) but would love to get an E85 swap on anything in the future.

My question is this: how can I get more involved in the thing I truly care about, without making a large purchase right off the bat? I have even considered volunteering my time at local collector shops just to get around some cool rides. In a perfect world, I would love to start something like a classic car investment firm ((in a perfect world)).

Has anyone ever been in my shoes? Any insight would mean a lot. Happy to clarify where needed as well.

Cheers

Join a car club. Or street rod association. Lots of folks to talk too.

1 Like

First, you don’t have to spend a lot of money to be in the car hobby. There are car guys who tool around in sub-$1,000 rides. Many of us find the Pebble Beach crowd to be snooty and obnoxious.