Need fatherly advice on purchasing a warranty!

I purchased a 1-owner 2004 Prius with 53,000 miles in MD in march 2011. I know the powertrain warranty on the prius is 5y/60k miles. Which means, the warranty on this baby ran out in 2009. The hybrid warranty is 10y/135k as MD is a CA emission state. Due to the fact that this is a first year production of the 2nd gen prius, this car has had a history of being in and out of the dealership mechanics (I bought it from the same dealer who sold it to the original owner, who traded in the car) for electrical and electronic problems. The 60K mile scheduled maintenance is coming up and the rear tires need to be replaced. I am a young professional and this car was a great buy for the price, but my budget is stretched and I want to be judicious with what I spend on the car. I want to keep it well maintained, but dont want to spend unnecessary money. Given this situation, what is your advice on buying a powertrain warranty on the car? DO I need it? I hope to keep the car for a while if it works out well.

What are the details of the warranty? Who would you be buying it from? How much? How does it define powertrain?

Companies that sell extended warranties are in not business to lose money. You didn’t give a cost? Coverage? Company? or any details needed to give you an answer. In general, no they are not a good idea because the warranty could cost more over the period you own the car than the repairs is needs. This is what the company banks on to make a profit.

These warranties don’t cover tires, brakes, struts, and just about any normal wear items. They are so full of exclusions that many repairs aren’t covered.

Your best practice is to know the maintenance needs of your car, check the owner’s manual and maintenance schedule. Once you know the maintenance requirements pay attention to them and follow them.