My 2007 Murano SUCKS! HELP!

I have had my 2007 Nissan Murano for 1 year. I am a BAD driver that doesn’t let my car warm up (I know!) & it takes me a total of 5 minutes to drive to work (NO…my next set of wheels will NOT be Schwinn!)…My gas mileage has deteriorated to less than 11 MPG !!! I have brought it to the dealer & the typical answer: “well, we plugged it into the computer…nothing wrong” (oh…& rhe dealer also told me that I was in the minority of disliking the car) …then, I emailed Nissan Corporate…they called me & “tactifully” told me to “remove some weight out of the car”…WTF!! My ONLY extra weight is an ice scraper! (are they trying to tell me to go on a diet? damn!!!)… Before I get rid of this, any suggestions? I love sporty, fun, but still like an SUV-type vehicle. I have no kids or hubby, but don’t like to borrow a pickup to carry my big stuff I like to buy. I NEED 4 wheel drive (upstate NY). Suggestions, please!!! Thank you!

No help on your next car. But, often manufacturers do NOT recommend warm-up’s for cars. Some people make a valid (IMO) choice to do it anyway, but following manufacturer’s recommends does usually not make you a BAD driver.

I am curious what your gas mileage used to be, deteriorated to 11 mpg. A FWD SUV driven on five minute trips, in the winter, wouldn’t seem likely to get much better than that general area. Do remember winter mileage would be expected to be lower.

you wanna run with the big dogs, expect to get bit by the big dogs!

in other words, take the foot off the pedal a little, ease up the gas, and drive a little more conservatively.

if that does’nt help, then try changing gas octane. BTW what octane do you usually use? 87, 89 91? what is recommended by Nissan?