MPG lower than I expected

I recently purchased a 2009 Kia Rondo. It’s supposed to get mid-20s in town and high-20s on the highway. I got these projections from CR online, book and magazine. The best I’ve gotten so far is 22.8. What can I do about it? I am a conservative driver. What affect does AC have on the MPG? What is highwat mileage?

The EPA shows about 22 in town and 26-27 on the road. If this 22.8 is open road driving only there may be an issue. A/C will drop the mileage some but not by that much.
That 22 in town may possibly be taken with a grain of salt; that’s awful close to the highway mileage.

Follow the break in suggestions in the manual, if any, if not my old fashioned advice is to have the oil changed at 2 to 3000 miles. It should get better as time goes on, ac can cut a couple of miles per gallon, what did the sticker on the car say? What type of driving are you doing? MPG has been fairly close to the sticker on the window in my experience.

Generally, the lower the rpm’s during normal driving -during acceleration and while traveling- the more you will get out of a gallon of gas. The optimal speed for a vehicle is 40 mph, providing that speed can be maintained for the majority of the trip. Highway mileage is better than town mileage because you cannot maintain a steady speed in a town, and have to stop frequently and then accelerate to a traveling speed that itself is often less than optimal. Also, highways generally tend to have smoother road surfaces than town streets, which also helps to improve mileage. Highway mileage refers to the economy of your vehicle under truly optimal conditions: dry, smooth, continuous roads with zero traffic at optimal speeds for the entire trip. Obviously on most highways you cannot travel at 40 miles per hour and not get run over, but you can do the limit or as near to it as is safe. If you think that 75 mph is conservative (some places it is), then you are not getting the mileage benefits of highway driving.