Motor oil brands

I have heard that all motor oils are about the same.I had a guy that was changing my oil in a auto repair shop that oil is oil is it true oil is oil and brand does not matter.Is this true or false.

What really matters is the API rating on the back of the container and the viscosity. As long as you buy the right viscosity and an oil that meets or exceeds the API rating in your owner’s manual, your vehicle will be fine.

In general it’s true. Brand doesn’t really matter. As Whitey said, the API ratings on the back of the bottle are what matters. As long as you use the correct viscosity and an API rating that meets or exceeds your car’s requirements, you can safely use any brand.

I’ve been using store-brand or discount motor oils for 30 years with no problems. I buy whatever is least expensive, as long as it meets my car’s requirements. I’ve even used oil with a grocery store name on the bottle.

There are only so many oil refineries. All oil, regardless of brand, comes from these same refineries. None of the discount retailers or parts stores (Walmart, Kmart, AutoZone, PepBoys, etc) owns and operates an oil refinery. They just have the oil put into bottles with their name on it. The oil inside the name-brand bottles is the same as the oil in the store-brand bottles.

Save money; buy store-brand oil.

As long as the oil containers have the API (American Petroleum Institute) and the SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) symbols on it, they’re pretty much the same oil.

Tester

The great brands of motor oil have all but disappeared just as the corner filling station that did oil changes and other minor servicing is gone. I remember the following:

Tropartic marketed by Phillips 66
 Fire and Ice marketed by Shell oil
 Singe G marketed by Gulf oil (Single G was a race horse)
 GulfPride marketed by Gulf oil
 Super Permalube marketed by Standard oil