Montana winter tires

Hey all, wondering if anyone from the mountain west has thoughts on studded/unstudded snow tires. Benefits and disadvantages. My first winter here in Montana, and while I don’t use my car a ton (mainly bike around the city), I do plan on getting out for some hikes and xx skiing. I won’t be doing anything insane, as my prius provides its own limitations, but curious about the studs since I’ve never used them before.

cheers.

I would not bother with studs for winter driving. Modern snow tires have excellent traction and they don’t need studs unless you drive on dirt roads with frost under the snow all winter. The studs loose much of their effectiveness as the miles accumulate and they decrease traction on dry roads where you will do most of your traveling. They are an excellent aid on glare ice but it’s a condition so infrequently experienced in normal winter driving it isn’t worth the expense or sacrifices. Check out tire rack for tire tests and see how well regular stud less tires do under all conditions.

+1 to dagosa on studs, they are also problematic on wet roads, tend to slide and lose traction. Blizzaks and Michelin X Ice are two outstanding winter tires to consider. Both perform very well with out studs

@steveCBT I agree; our son and his wife are both winter sports fans and spend a lot of time in the Rocky Mountains. They have a Finnish brand of winter tires that have never failed them. No studs needed.

Our two cars both have Michelin X-ICE and we’ve never been stuck.