Mitsubishi93

my mitsubishi 93 expo lrv 1.8 engine failed emissions again. i am a backyard mechanic. it failed in NOX . the limit is 2.50 and and i am getting 2.57. everything else is passing fine , like HC 0.56, limit 1.00, and CO gets 5.19 the limit is 12.00. It have 225.000 miles on it, but I always been taking of my car, runs just fine. Somebody told me that in order to knock out a little the NOX and finally PASS i must retard the timing 1 or 2 degrees. the catalytic converter is fairly new, less than 5000 miles on it, an this car DOESN’T HAVE egr valve, because is arizona model. I really like this car and planning to keep it forever. the OX sensor is almost new. i replaced it last time i passed emissions. I really HATE emissions. this car is a lot cleaner than the car we used to drive 40 years ago, and i am not planning to replace the engine because is running good. what am i supposed to do??? thank you.

I know there are chemical products that are supposed to help ypu pass emissions, you might try one of them. Retarding timing 2 degrees might drop the combustion pressure and temp enough to to pass. Good luck. In my state pre- obdII cars aren’t emissions tested except visually.

Are you certain this car does not have an EGR valve? A parts house listing shows one as being available. My daughter has owned 3 Mitsubishis from '91 up and they all had EGR systems.

I’m not familiar with a so-called Arizona model. In '93 there should be 49 state Federal cars and a California model by itself.

I think EGR valve are a federal mandate on all cars. If you are not sure about this, make sure, as the EGR is responsible the primarly control of NO emissions. It would be very common to have one fail at this mileage. And they are generally not expensive to replace. You other specs look like the car is running well and well maintained. I don’t think the cat is related to NO emissions. It’s only for HC and CO. Double check the EGR issue I guess.