Mercedes 300D? Yes or No?

My wife wants a 1984 Mercedes 300D. She’s been checking craigslist and the papers daily. My problem is that I have no experience with Mercedes or diesels so before she finds that perfect one does anyone have any advice for me?

Should I talk her out of it? (like I should have done when she fell in love with and bought an old VW van- she still to this day gets on my case because I didn’t stop her!)

We do have a good Mercedes mechanic in town but I’m worried that the car would be spending more time with him than with my wife.

If you can find one that has been taken care of, sure. Definitely take it by your Mercedes mechanic and get it checked out before buying. It seems like every 300 diesel that I see has a black streak up the back and a perpetual cloud floating behind it. I have to assume things like injection pumps and things of that ilk are spendy spendy on these cars, so it would be well worth it to bring it in before you buy. If you’re thinking of going the eBay route, I would NOT buy one sight-unseen.

If her intent is to be economical, then buying a Mercedes diesel is a plan to save money no matter what it costs to do so. Compared to a modern mid size car, the fuel mileage is not anything to get happy about. Other than that, a diesel car is unique which may be a positive attribute to some.