Mechanic bills charges for using websites

My old car had an ABS issue. It turned out to be a faulty relay – but, according to my mechanic, this was difficult to diagnose. On my bill he had separate charges for using alldata.com, identifix, and an electrocardio graph. I am not an expert, but I have a little experience with alldata.com. As far as I know it is a subscription based service – a shop pays for a year and you get unlimited use. So the fact that he charged $9.90 to look something up on alldata strikes me as strange. If alldata.com is a subscription-based service, why would there be a special, one-time charge to look something up on my car? I know nothing about identifix, but I have the same concern there. And the electrocardio-graph also strikes me as a weird charge. So they used a monitor to graph the electrical signal in the ABS system. Why is that a separate charge? Why isn’t that included in the shop materials charge?

How does this strike all of you? Is it standard practice to charge customers for using internet tools? Has this happened to anyone else?

@agd2-2 you can get a yearly subscription to information websites, but the rate is often thousands of dollars! A subscription for a few days is usually in the $10 - $25 range.

I sometimes log onto the GM and Toyota websites.

GM charges
$20/3days
$150/month
$1200/year

Toyota charges
$15/2days
$75/month
$400/year
Note that this is Toyota’s cheapo subscription. You don’t get Identifix direct hit, ECU recalibrations, or techstream scantool software. That costs substantially more.

These are just examples of the websites I have used recently.

I am a pro, and I sometimes do sidejobs. I am upfront about charges for information websites. I tell my customers what the website access charge is. And I provide them with all receipts upon completion of the repair.