Manual Transmission shifting

In a vehicle with a manual transmission, is it okay to shift the gears without the clutch if you are used to doing so without little or no force applied to the shifter? I have made a habbit of doing this with all vehicles because that’s how I learned how to do it in the 10 speed Kenworth used to drive. Example: I work at a Subaru dealership. All of the new Subaru’s are pretty much the same when they have manual transmissions. The gears have their own certain RPM’s that they can slip right into without any force applied to the shifter. Is this not okay to do? I try not to do it much with brand new vehicles because they are NEW!!! and don’t want to mess anything up. Any feedback would be great before I continue doing it.

I’ve done this on occasion, but not as gracefully as you do!
I’m no expert, but I don’t see how it can be a problem. See what the experts say.

Well, if you are good and if you have no lapses you will not do any damage. But few people are really that good and using the clutch is not going to hurt your car or wear out the clutch. If you were to borrow my car, I would ask that you use the clutch. But do what you like with your own car.

Had a friend who drove his manual Jeep Cherokee for a week with no hydraulic clutch fluid…he got pretty good at it…maybe your practicing for just such an occasion ? Being a novice, my question would be…why ?

One thing I dislike about manual transmissions is that I can’t get past 80k without needing a new clutch. i suspect this technique would cut down on clutch wear?

I’ve always wondered, if the clutches in automatic transmissions last well past 100k, why can’t we get a manual clutch as reliable? I do know it’s an apple-oranges comparison, but still… 80k is not much. Lots of people can’t get beyond 50k.

And of course it depends on technique, some others get a lot more than 80k.