Low mileage in TDI Jetta running on biodiesel

I have been driving a 2001 TDI Jetta since 2006, using 100% biodiesel processed by Pacific Biodiesel. The problem is the mileage. I’ve heard that biodiesel gets a few less mies per gallon than regular diesel but my car fluctuates between 28 and 23 mph. Other biodiesel Jettas here in Hawaii are getting 35 mph and more. I have asked for advice from a blog, from the VW mechanics and from Pacific Biodiesel but no one seems to have a clue. What do you all think?

This time of year with the temperatures plummeting the mixture of bio-diesel you are using may be having an impact on your mileage. Do you know what type (the ratio of bio-diesel to oil based-diesel) you are running now? For instance (to my knowledge) it may be suitable to run B75-B100 (which is 75%-100% bio-diesel) in the warm months where the higher viscosity fuel will not be much of an impact; however, in the colder months you would likely (ask around) want to run a much lower mixture (say B25 or lower) or even straight traditional clean (but oil-based) diesel as the fuel is less viscous. It is the same with using different weight oil in your crank case different times of year. This may be something you want to look into though I am starting to question this as the culprit given that you live in HI.

You may also want to consider having your fuel filter checked/changed if it has not been checked recently. Bio-diesel (more an issue with the post-fryalator DIY kind) is known to have more particular matter in the fuel than traditional diesel so you could have a partially blocked filter.

Did you know VW only recommends using B5 in their TDI’s? Otherwise engine/fuel system damage can occur. http://www.officialbiodiesel.com/fuel_policys.htm

Tester