Low car usage maintenance tips

I’m a grad student of the dirt poor variety in Fort Collins, CO. In my richer days I managed to purchase a '94 BMW 325IS which has for the most part been reliable, faithful, and occasionally fun. These days I bike to school and so need my car very infrequently - on the order of once every two weeks at most. My question is two fold:

1. What are some general maintenance tips on keeping a very low use car in good working order

-and-

2. How much of this maintenance can I do myself on this car? I’m generally handy enough to make mechanical things I work on worse only about 90% of the time and would like to save as much money as I can.

Thanks!

You really should drive it more than once every two weeks. I’d drive it to warm-up temp twice a week if it were my car. Keep the gas tank over half and change your oil at 3000 if you opt for the short warmup trips I suggest as this is considered by some to be tough on engine oil. Keep it clean and wax twice a year, fix problems as they come up. Rocketman

Maintenance? Oil changes, brakes, exhaust, plugs, wires, cap, filters should pretty much do it unless you have a garage and a good set of tools, which I assume you lack due to your description of your current student status. Stay in school and study hard, it’ll be worth it. Good luck! Rocketman

If you are looking for special or extra maintenance tasks than would not be needed for a daily driver, there aren’t any. Just drive when you feel like it and you can ignore the car in between trips. A low-usage car does not require any treatment above and beyond that of a more frequently used car.

It would be prudent to own a battery charger since you might occasionally have starting difficulties.

Change your oil every 6 months if you taking short trips around town even though not much mileage.