Keep it or heap it?

I have a '95 Probe (143K miles, manual trans.) that I bought about a year ago, and a pending repair has caused me to take up the old “keep it or heap it” question. Here is a brief summary of monetary costs for this thing:

$1100 - purchase price (2/09)

$1400 - initial repairs, incl. front ball joints, control rod arms (2/09)

$300 - tires (4/09)

$500 - thermostat/cooling system flush (8/09)

$500 - front struts (10/09)

Now, I am faced with a water pump/timing belt replacement job ranging from $500-$1000, which stems from a significant coolant leak. There are a few things to consider here: I am a seminary student on a low-paid internship, so money is tight (and it will stay that way even when I’m a pastor). I bought this car thinking I would keep it until the end of seminary, May 2011. Another factor is that I have another functional vehicle at my disposal ('97 Olds 88), with no issues besides replacing a cracked windshield for $200.

I love the Probe, and enjoy it far and beyond above the Olds, as well as my wife’s car, an '01 Sonata, which makes the decision difficult. I kept hoping that each fix would be the last for a good long time, but new things keep popping up. If I do have to get rid of it, the junkyard will give me about $225, or I may be able to sell it to a teenager at one of the nearby churches for perhaps $400, informing them that they would have to pay for the repairs.

So, first question is whether or not I should keep the car. If not, then the next is whether it is fair to sell it to someone, or if I should just junk it. I’m all ears.

Unless perhaps if the tires are a result of the ball joints and tie rod ends being shot, I really couldn’t consider them as a repair cost.

Honestly, you got “took” on the cooling system work.

The front struts are also normal wear items. And the price looks reasonable.