Jetta ball joint

what are the symptoms of a worn ball joint

Why Not Give Us The Symptoms? I’d Say That If You Are Questioning The Integrity Of Ball Joints Or Other Critical Suspension / Steering Components, Then You Need A Vehicle Safety Inspection.

Since you seem unsure of the condition of this vehicle, tell us what it’s doing. Also, why screw around, make arrangements and get it totally check out.

You or an innocent person could be injured while you debate whether the car is safe to drive or not.

CSA

There is a slight shimmy when I brake. I know I also need struts. This a 1999 with 145K that I have spent a fortune on. I’m just about at the end the line, but hesitant to buy another car. Can you get a free (or at least cheap) vehicle safety inspection? I keep bumping into bad mechanics. Even recommended ones tend to rip me off some where along the line and I am not made of money to endlessly pour into a car. I have been averaging $3,000 per year for the past 5 years.

That Shimmy When You Brake Could Just Be Slightly Warped Brake Rotors And Not A Major Concern. Weak Struts Could Exacerbate The Shimmy.

However, get it checked out anyhow. Call around. Depending on where you live, a safety inspection may be fairly inexpensive or free. Some shops, given the poor econommy, will do inspections for free while they try and sell you service on your vehicle.

Should they find a problem, have them show you specifically what’s wrong and demonstrate the problem if possible. Ask about the potential dangers of any problems.

CSA