It can't be my breath

Okay, so what am I doing wrong here? Dealers I’ve contacted by e-mail keep calling, calling, calling my cell phone telling me to call them back or come in. I don’t WANT to call them back (have limited minutes) or come in (limited time); I e-mail them telling them I’ve decided to just order an '09 and to let me know when I can place that order and what price they can offer me on a car with the options I want. Never a reply. Huh?

I’m new to this “new car” game; what’s their deal?

We did just what you did via internet. You need to find a dealer who is internet savvy and who has a salesman who understands that you don’t want a hard sell. On the other hand, you will have to provide a down payment, so you will probably have to go to the dealership to sign the order and pay the deposit. Another option is to find a no-haggle dealer in your area, who will quote you his bottom line price. This all assumes you could provide exactly the info they need to process a special order for your 09. If you were not precise enough, then they could not provide you with a proper estimate without talking to you.

Also look at Costco or Sam’s auto sales programs if they offer one in your state. This provides a no-haggle price deal for you, without the normal BS.

In case you haven’t figured it out, only provide you email address in the future, never a phone contact number, and they are forced to deal with you via email. Providing a cell phone number guarantees phone calls from salesmen.