Issues with Certified Used Cars

Hello:

My wife and I are in the market for a Certified Used Car. We found one we liked, and were about to sign a contract of sale, but then we took it to a local outside mechanic to do one last inspection. The mechanic said that the car was solid, but he did point out a few things that he felt should be corrected. These included: (1) Replacing the brakes–(mechanic said 25% or less left), (2) Replacing the battery (failed load test), (3) Following up why the codes have been cleared. (4) Get new wiper blades. Not being a mechanic, I felt that these did not seem unreasonable, especially given that these repairs would probably not amount to much more than a few hundred dollars, which isn’t a lot when you are talking about a $19k purchase. But instantly, we got a lot of pushback from our dealer, as the sales person immediately asked us if we trusted this mechanic, and then proceeded to say that if their “Certified Used Cars,” had this little brake level left (the mechanic was saying 25%), they would get fined X dollars, and probably be put out of business. I felt that this was a pretty strong reaction, and it made me and my wife feel a little uncomfortable. They did let us go out into the mechanics’ area and let us inspect the brakes–which they said were brand new, but the first car they led us to was the wrong car! Eventually, the mechanic conceded that the instrument he had been using, (the borescope–(sic)), may have been misleading, and the front brakes appeared to be 100%, with the rear brakes 60%. The salesperson also questioned how we could need a new battery when he starts it every morning. And when we asked for new wiper blades, the salesperson said they are new, but then when he went back to check the sticker which listed all the improvements, he noticed that they were not new. At the end of the day, they said they would put in a new battery and wiper blades, but my wife and I felt a little uncomfortable with the experience and