Is it worth restoring a '67 Beetle?

I’ve had my 1967 VW Beetle in the garage for 14 years. A mechanic checked it over and says the engine is in surprisingly good shape, but it’ll cost a bomb to restore. I’d have to have the tires made specially, according to my mechanic (who is all for it, really).

Should I do it? I’m only the 3rd owner; my grandfather gave it to me in 1985. He bought it in um, 1969? 1970?

I am all for restoring a 67 Bettle and I am also all for staying very far from a mechanic that says tires must be “specially” made. Can you put that statement in contex?

Yeah. They don’t make that size tire anymore; it’s non-standard. I trust this shop; I’ve been using them for over 10 years now. They’ve never tried to get me to do anything unnecessary to my car, and have often tried to find less expensive alternatives to replacing say, the entire AC on my Jeep.

They don’t mind explaining to a woman what exactly they’re doing and why. I’ve seen under my car when they have it up on the lift, and Steve or Jay will happily take time out to explain fairly easy maintenance or repairs I could do on my own and not need to come into the shop to deal with. They used to work on the Beetle before it got taken off the road; they’ve known the car a while.

There is a company, Coker Tire, that may have the tires you need for a VW. The URL is COKERTIRE.COM. Also, there is a place in Springfield, Ohio–LucasClassicTires.com.

I would recommend you pick up an old car publication at a bookstore. Hemming’s Classic Car, Cars & Parts and I think there are even publications for old VWs. Your mechanics may not be up on parts availability for 1967 VW’s–I don’t think many roll into their shop these days.

Coker tire has eight choices in the correct OEM size for you, so tires will not be your biggest challenge.