Is it safe buying a car that would go to wholesale?

I am a graduate student trying to buy decent car for around $5000 (reliability is the most important thing for me). Unfortunately I am in a tiny city and not too many people are selling decent used cars on craigslist. There is a “used car overstock” place close to where I live which, every month, turns over vehicles to wholesalers, although they do sell some of them retail.

If I found a car at this place (or others like it), would a pre-sale inspection and a trip to a body shop give me enough information to know whether the car was in good condition? Or would I be taking a big risk?

If it was in good condition it would have been kept by the trade-in dealer and would now be for sale on their lot.
Most trade-ins and repos that go to wholesale do so because of the potential of needing more work than the vehicle could recover at sale.
Sometimes it’s simply a numbers game, sometimes it’s a bad omen.

Since you’re not buying the car to resell it is now simply a matter of the bottom line of purchase price+repairs+future potential. If you see a vehicle that has a basic good feeling about it , have it checked over and you might just get something good enough in the end.
But watch out, it would not be my first choice. ( 30 year Ford dealer parts man )

Check first for it being mechanically sound. You may choose to live with some of the cosmetics that would have raised the price for a dealer sale prep like dents, scratches, fading paint, no radio, iffy tires etc but the major drive train components could break you later.

In the price range you give, you are either going to get an older model car with low mileage or a newer one with high mileage. Many of the cars that go to wholesale are high mileage cars. If you put 30 to 35K miles on a car per year then you have a 2 to 3 year old car with 70 to 100K miles.