Is a Porsche 928 s4 a reliable car for a first car? (1987)

My son is looking into a porsche 928 s4 for his first car. I am not an expert when it comes to Porsches, so im asking if this car will suit a first time driver?
Is this car gas friendly?
Is it expensive to repair?
What is a fair price for a used one?
How reliable is the car?
Just simple facts I need to know about this car.

I bought a 928 S4 in Germany in the 1980’s and brought it back to the US. To answer your questions:

if this car will suit a first time driver? NO
Is this car gas friendly? NO
Is it expensive to repair? YES
What is a fair price for a used one? FREE
How reliable is the car? NOT AT ALL

Consider the purchase price to be a down payment. Corrected for inflation, a 928 cost about $75,000 new. Now, it’s a $5,000 used car. However, it is still a $75,000 car to maintain and fix. Parts and labor have not depreciated as did the car.

Get him a nice clean Honda or Toyota.

1 Like

This is the sort of question that is better handled by the good people at forums.rennlist.com which has a section all about the 928. From what i can find 19mpg is doing well on these cars

From what i have read for some time is that the reliability and repair costs for this car depend greatly on how it was serviced and treated in the past. These cars haven’t been rated favorably by Sports Car Market Magazine due to the large number of poorly maintained ones they see at auction.
I would first find and talk to a mechanic who knows these cars since you will want to have him check over any car you might buy beforehand to save headaches and large repair bills. IMHO i would not recommend this car for a new driver due to the RWD and V8 (it may seem like a cool car but have you priced insurance?)

See if you can find a local Porsche owners club, they would be another great place to get the answers from people who actually own these cars.