Importance of replacing brake fluids

Hello, I am not an expert in auto related stuffs, but I heard that replacing the brake fluid is an important part in auto maintenance. I saw a blog ( http://www.serviceplus416.com/car-news/why-its-important-to-replace-your-brake-fluid/ ) which talks about the same. I realized the importance of replacing brake fluids and how it becomes an important part of routine maintenance. But, I have a question now, if brake fluid is contaminated, should I need to be concerned?

“If brake fluid is contaminated, should I need to be concerned?”

You should be concerned to the point where you flush out all of the old brake fluid and make sure you replace your brake fluid at the proper interval in the future. I have never flushed any brake fluid that looks as good going out as it did when it was going in.

If you’ve detected contamination in your brake fluid you should be concerned. You should flush the system with fresh fluid.

Brake fluid absorbs moisture and that in turn will contribute to metal brake lines rusting. I’ve seen it happen a couple of times, dangerous!

Honda was on the ‘flush the brake fluid’ bandwagon from the '76 Civic-I don’t know about the AN600. Moisture contaminated brake fluid in steel parts = rust, which damages rubber seals and brake lines from the inside out.

My attitude is: flush the fluid when you service the brakes. Good practice is to bleed the brakes when you change pads–it isn’t that much more work to continue bleeding until you push fresh fluid out the bleeders.

I don’t have a fluid-changing regemin beyond that, however.

I got in the habit of changing brake fluid in my '81 Accord.
Do it every 3 years now. If I had a car with ABS I’d do it every 2 years.
Old fluid always looks dark. That’s enough evidence for me.