I'm ready to buy a used car... but I have no idea what to look for and I need advice/recommendations

Hello cartalk, I’m a college student that’s been through hell and as a gift from my parents, they’re willing to buy me a car within the range of 13k USD ~ 16K USD on my birthday (2 months from now) they said that I can either choose new or used but I chose used because, well, it’s best value for the buck.

What I’m looking for is comfort, pleasure and luxury in my new-used car. I do a lot of commuting, I drive my sisters to school everyday so the backseat space is important and my university is 1hour-something away from my house.

I’m looking for something relatively new 2007~2010, I did my research and these cars fit my category quite well:

1) 2008/2009 Honda Accord

2) 2008+ Nissan Altima

3) 2008+ Nissan Maxima (kind of a stretch, but this car is amazing)

4) 2008+ Toyota Camry (least prefered)

More questions:

1) What should I look for in a used car? What should I be checking?

2)What questions do I ask the dealer?

3) Is there anything I need to know about used cars?

4) do you have any other recommendation for me?

Thanks.

The most common piece of advice on this URL for buying a used car is to find a trusted mechanic, and pay him to check out the car. And, if someone does not want to let you do that, walk away. Used cars vary widely in maintenance history, and that is perhaps the most important factor in buying a used car, not to mention wrecks, or being sold a flooded car.

Some say if you get some sort of extended warranty, that might negate the need for a mechanic’s inspection.

Of course, if somehow the seller is able to provide reliable maintenance records, that would help.

Also, some suggest finding a car from a private party, because dealer’s tend to soup up the price, hoping you think as a dealer they have a better car, which may or may not be true.