I put petrol in a diesel engine

I borrowed a friends 2003 Mercedes Vito and put about 10 liters of petrol in an empty tank. It drove for about a kilometer or two, than died out… No dramatic noise, just sputtered out. Wondering what the damage could be best and worst case scenario. Is it possible that the car just ran on deisel in the fuel lines, and than as soon as petrol entered it shut off? because the car does not start now, and it seems as if the gas pedal doesn’t really engage. If there was petrol it would still actually turn on, right? This tells me that there may be some auto cut off? Mechanic is telling me that the entire fuel injection and pump system is going to be ruined, but I have a hard time believing that this is a Garuntee… What’s your guys take on it?

I’m no expert, but my understanding is that gas (petrol) in a diesel engine will do expensive damage (unlike the other way around). I’m afraid you’re likely to owe your friend a lot of money here.

While I can’t guarantee it, I believe that lion9car is correct.
The OP needs to be honest with his friend about the scenario that took place, and he needs to cover the high cost of repairing his friend’s car.

I really was looking for somebody that knew what they were talking about to maybe chip in some advice.

You cannot run gasoline (petrol) thru the injector pump/diesel injectors without doing some kind of damage to the fuel system.

Drain the fuel tank, fill it with diesel fuel, cross your fingers and start the engine.

Tester

The mechanic is correct and maybe a prayer to the auto gods could help. Or not.

I would hope that a 2003 year model vehicle with unspecified miles did not suffer engine damage also. Diesels can be very cantankerous about compression issues and Benz repairs are not cheap.

Something else to consider is the closeness of this friendship. Any current problem or one that pops up in 6 months or a year may be laid at your feet.

The explanation below and more can be found here.