I mistakenl put gear oil in Chevy 02 pickup with automatic transmission

I regrettably poured a quart of gear oil in a 02 Chevy pickup automatic transmission. I did not drive the truck but I did run the engine. A mechanic suggested diluting it with paint thinner. Advice is greatly needed and appreciated. Thank you

Ignore that mechanics advice in the future. Have the transmission pan dropped, the filter replaced and the fluid flushed ASAP.

I am not a mechanic and I think paint thinner in the transmission is a dumb idea.

Drain it, fill it, short drive, drain, fill it, short drive, drain, fill it, drain, replace filter and fill. This is the way Honda makes sure it is cleaned out.

That’s a riot!

Why not just connect a tranny fluid exchange machine and get it over with?

Tester

I’m assuming OP doesn’t want to pay a shop to flush the transmission

I’m assuming OP wants to correct this mistake cheaply, and do it himself

I suspect db is right, and on that basis I agree with knifenmore’s advice.

Okay.

Let’s look at the economics.

Tranny fluid on average is $6.00/qt

Depending on the tranny it’ll take 5-7 quarts to refill after a pan drop.

That’s about $36.00.

You do this 4-5 times you’re looking at about $150.00 just in tranny fluid.

And you still don’t know if all the gear oil was removed.

This doesn’t include the cost of a new pan gasket each time if it has one.

Then there’s the disposal of the used tranny fluid.

And then there’s the down time of the vehicle.

For about the same amount of money, you hook a fluid exchange machine up, get it done in one step, and you know all the gear oil has been removed.

Tester

The cheapest and best solution . . . in my opinion

Use another car to head to the parts store

Buy the correct quantity of atf and a filter and gasket kit

Head back home

Put the truck on jackstands

Do not start the truck

Remove the transmission pan

Clean the pan very well

Replace the filter

Clean off all remnants of the old pan gasket