I Have a Dream....Of Building a Kit Car

Ever since I was a kid I’ve wanted an A/C Cobra. Getting a real one is a little outside my price range, but a kit? Totally in striking range. If I could, I would love to build it myself. My question is this: Is it reasonable? I can be pretty handy, and I know a little bit about cars, but I’m far from an expert. Am I kidding myself here? Has anyone built a kit car? How much do you need to know before you start, and how much can you learn along the way? Last thing I want to do is build myself a death trap. What should I focus on learning and getting experience with before I tackle a project like this? Any insight and advice would be greatly appreciated!

Is cost your main concern? A used car is fairly cheap. I saw one last summer at event for 22k. Nice shape. Do u want to build it? It always takes more time and money than u plan. Do u have room. Do u live in snow area? Drive it in summer only? I have built several. The shine looses it luster real quick.

I have seen and rode in a Factory 5 Cobra kit car. You need a older 5 liter mustang donor. Just keep in mind you will never get out of it what you put into it, so if you tire of it and try to sell it in 5 years you will likely lose money. A kit is 20 grand with no options, and you need a donor car.

A kit car is never going to be as safe as a modern car IMHO. You will most certainly be riding in a death trap by today’s standards, that being said, alot of people drive classic cars around and they are still here.

My advice would be to look for complete one someone is selling and let them take the hit. There are many nice ones on ebay for around 30k.

If you do take it on yourself, be prepared to spend every weekend and most nights after work assembling and fabricating the car. This will go on for a few years. It takes a lot of time to build a kit car.

You will likely have to hire someone to paint it.

Do you have tools? You will need a good assortment of tools.