I drove it for love

Dear Tom and Ray,

I share with you today a story of romance, heartbreak, perseverance and machismo. I am a first year grad student at Georgetown University in Washington, DC. I moved there this summer from Minneapolis, MN where I had lived for 6 years. My girlfriend and I decided that we were going to try a long-distance relationship for the two years that my schooling would take.

Two weekends ago, my girlfriend was flying out to visit me for the first time since we had parted 6 weeks earlier. I was looking forward to going and picking her up from Dulles airport, a 30 minute drive from my apartment. It was 9:30 at night and it had been raining outside as I walked to my car, a 1999 Chevy Cavalier that my girlfriend had sold to me for $500 the year before when she got a grownup job and bought a grownup car (a hot little Nissan Altima Coupe). Two friends of mine asked if I could give them a ride to a bar on my way to the airport. Fine by me.

So we all hop in the car and start driving through the city, and no more than a quarter mile into the drive, a light pops on saying “ETS Off” and the entire car shakes whenever I apply the brakes. Something is clearly wrong. Shortly after, the “check engine” light pops on. I pull into the first gas station I find and we all get out to check for what’s wrong. None of us know what “ETS” stands for. When I pop the hood, I can see the entire engine shaking as if it’s trying to burst loose from the frame of the car and fly away. There is also a burning smell that none of us recognize. I quickly turned off the car, not knowing what step to take next. My friends begin calling their friends to try to get advice while I have the unpleasant task of telling my girlfriend, who has just landed, that I am currently incapable of picking her up from the airport. At this point, she may be looking at a $40 taxi fare to get into town.