How to make sure auto shop using quality parts

Hi folks,

During regular service, nissan dealer told that my murano’s brake pads and rotors need to be replaced. One option is to to get it fixed with dealer which i think will give me peace of mind.

But if i want to go to independent mechanic shop, how to make sure he is using quality part and not some cheap product. I am new in NJ and can’t trust anybody though get some clues from yelp. There are so many options available on carparts.com/autozone for brake pads/rotors…starting from $80-$300. Are there auto shop which can replace parts of my choice/or i bought it myself ? (like some do for oil change)

Pls advise.

Some shops will let you bring parts, but they won’t guarantee them. You could ask them what parts they use, and why the shop thinks theat those parts are right for your car. If they want to stay in business, the shop should use the parts that generate the fewest complaints. In the case of brakes, it is unlikely customers experience failure. More likely they will have short life compared to the last set of pads and rotors, or noises that weren’t there before.

There is a button at the top of the page called “Mechanics Files”. Visitors to Car Talk provide reviews of repair shops, and you might find a good one there. You can also ask everyone you know for an indie shop. Eventually, one or two will show up most and you could try them.

Just ask your mechanic what parts supplier they use.

Where I’m at, Carquest supplies/delivers parts to local independent/dealer service centers.

Tester