How to I approach the place/mechanic that stripped my drain plug and oil pan?

Hello, I recently just inherited my first car (Toyota Rav 4 2007) and I am pretty new to everything about cars. I went to get the motor oil changed through a groupon deal a couple months ago. The reviews on yelp for this place averaged about 4.5 stars so I was pretty excited. However, I got my oil changed at a different place today and they told me the previous mechanic over-tightened my drain plug and this stripped the drain plug and the oil pan.

What should I do now? I called around my area and the cost to replace the oil pan ranged from $250 to $700. One of the places I called suggested I go back to the original mechanic, and ask them to change my oil pan free of charge. How do I approach them? I am very non-confrontational. I am a 4’11 adult that still looks like a kid.

Here’s the rub.

The shop today said the previous shop stripped out the pan/plug.

How do know that the shop today wasn’t actually the ones that stripped out the pan/plug?

Tester

7 Likes

Is your car leaking oil through the drain plug now, and was it leaking before this last change? If leaking is a recent thing, the last shop may be to blame. If they are willing to lie to you, though, you may have no recourse.

One thing you might try is having a threaded insert installed and use a new drain plug. If this can be done, the cost should be a lot less than a new oil pan. A lot of oil pans are blocked by suspension parts or the frame, and it takes a lot of time to get the pan off. Then the shop has to reassemble the car after installing the new oil pan.

2 Likes