How to get an onery bolt loose?

Hey ya’ll, I hope you can help. I’m new to fixing my own vehicle and I recently bought a van that is giving me a crash course.

You see, it has a bad rear U-Joint. It shudders at high speeds, squeaks at low speeds, and clanks whenever I put it into gear. I’ve also crawled underneath and confirmed this by shaking the dickens out of it while it was in neutral. I bought a Chilton’s and I’ve also read pages upon pages on the internet on U-Joints and driveshafts. I bought a set of new U-Joints, I can see exactly where they go, and know exactly what I have to do to get to them. I’m all ready.

Except I can not, for the life of me, get two of the 4 bolts off to remove the drive shaft. This van’s pretty old (1993 Ford Econoline) so they’re rusted up pretty badly. One came off with the wrench, another with the help of vice grips and a hammer after I stripped the head, but #3 (which has, along with #4, a stripped head) is becoming soft and misshapen with the vice grips and becoming impossible to work with.

So, I need tips on getting those suckers off. I would really like to avoid a mechanic.

A bit more info:

1)I’ve tried WD-40 to no avail

2)I bought a propane torch based on someone’s advice, but I’m a bit hesitant to heat it too much because I’m afraid some of the residual grease will ignite or perhaps the heat will work back into that big things in the middle of the rear axle that I know is full of some sort of lube oil (I warned you I’m new to this!) Am I being too paranoid?

3)I only have a basic socket wrench kit. Picture a $75 Craftsman set. I am willing to buy a few specialty tools if they’re not exorbitantly expensive.

Sure hope you guys can help me. That way when I get it fixed I can come back to ask about a drain in my electrical system. :slight_smile:

Thanks tons!

Angle grinder with a cutting blade. Cut just off the base of the bolt or nut head to ensure you don’t damage the propshaft yolk.